JACKSON — For the first time in 12 years, a new City of Jackson Mayor was sworn-in.

On Monday, Dec. 30, Jackson County Prosecuting Attorney Justin Lovett administered the oath of office to Jackson Mayor Randy Evans before sworn in six members of Jackson City Council.

In May 2019, Evans secured the Republican nomination after he defeated Eric Brown in the Primary Election. During that election, Evans received 526 votes, while Brown received 288 votes.

Evans then faced Megan Peters, a Democrat, along with Barbie Britton McCathren, an Independent, in the 2019 General Election in November.

When the final numbers came in, Evans came out on top with 889 votes, while Peters had 254 votes and McCathren got 185 votes.

In early 2019, longtime Jackson Mayor Randy Heath announced that he would not seek re-election. Heath served three, four-year terms as mayor.

Jackson City Council has many new faces around the table as 2020 begins. Lovett, sworn in the following council members, after Mayor Evans.

Sworn-in as Jackson City Council President was Carisa Edwards. She filed and appeared on the ballot in the May 2019. Edwards received 435 complimentary votes.

Edwards then faced Democrat candidate Ronald B. Speakman in the 2019 General Election. Speakman, a familiar face to Jackson had served in the past on Jackson City Council; end up being defeated by Edwards.

When the final numbers came in, Edwards had 723 votes, while Speakman had 561 votes.

Marva Colby, Dan Coll, and Brett Foster were all elected to the three available council-at-large seats. During the 2019 General Election, Colby received 659 votes, Coll received 558 votes, and Foster received 689 votes. George Kitchen, Jon Ondera, and Butch Aldrich didn’t seek re-election for council-at-large seats.

J. Ryan Peters, who was appointed to the 1st Ward seat in January 2019 to replace Jon Hensler, retained his seat during the 2019 November General Election. He received 257 complimentary votes.

John Peters was elected as 2nd Ward councilman. John had no opposition and received 155 complimentary votes. He was newly elected. Former Councilman, Ron Queen, didn’t seek re-election.

Deborah Biggs was elected as 3rd Ward councilwoman. Biggs had no opposition and received 160 complimentary votes. She was newly elected. Former Councilman, Jeff Elliott, didn’t seek re-election. Biggs was not sworn in during this ceremony, as she was out of the country.

Tim Matchett was elected as 4th Ward councilman. Matchett had no opposition and received 297 complimentary votes. He was newly elected. Brett Foster didn’t seek re-election for the 4th Ward, but was elected for an at-large seat.

The Jackson City Council meets on the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 7 p.m. in the Jackson City Council Chambers (199 Portsmouth St. in Jackson) located next to the Jackson Police Station. The meetings are open to the public.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Load comments