The Tri-Valley Conference unveiled its all-conference list, including offensive, defensive and coach of the year.

In the Ohio Division, Athens' Nate Trainer racked up the awards as he earned co-offensive most valuable player alongside Nelsonville-York's Reece Robson. 

Trainer was later awarded as defensive most valuable player as he led the Bulldogs to a TVC-Ohio Championship and a district championship. 

Vinton County's Andy Barrell was named co-Coach of the Year alongside Athens' Todd Nuzum. 

Joining Trainer and Robson on the all-conference list from Vinton Couty was Ash Abele, Lincoln Hayes, Zach Bartoe, Jacob Wells and River Hayes. 

Abele was a major factor in the Vikings' turnaround season that included ending Athens' 31-game TVC winning streak. He batted .367 with 24 hits, including four doubles, a triple, 14 RBIs and scoring 14 times. 

It was on the mound where Abele shined as he finished 5-1 on the season with a 2.58 earned run average and struck out 42 batters. 

Lincoln Hayes, one of just three seniors on the Vikings, finished his final season batting .271 with 19 hits, including five doubles and 18 RBIs while scoring 11 times.

Bartoe ended his season as one of four Vikings who sported a .300 batting average or better. He rounded out at .308 with 24 hits, including a pair of doubles and scoring 28 times. 

On the mound, the sophomore hurler went 3-4 with a 3.68 earned run average and struck out a team-high 55 batters. 

River Hayes, one of just two freshman to make the list (River Valley's Dalton Mershon), batting .275 with 19 hits, including three doubles with 17 RBIs and scoring 13 runs. 

Rounding out the Vikings was Wells, who led the Vikings in nearly every hitting statistical category this season. 

He finished with a .402 batting average with 35 hits that included a pair of home runs, 11 doubles, a triple, 26 RBIs and scoring 27 times. 

Wellston, who claimed its first sectional championship since 2010, were represented on all-conference by Chase Ingalls, Timothy Stanley and Hunter Cardwell.

Along with Trainer from Athens on the conference list is Nick Braga, Jack Cornwell, Rece Lonas, Peyton Gail, Eli Kennedy and Reece Wallace. 

Representing Meigs was Wesley Smith, Cole Arnott, Michael Gilkey and Brair Wolfe.  

Along with Mershon from River Valley was Chase Kemper and Chase Barber, while Nelsonville-York had Jacob Chaffin alongside Robson to finish out the all-conference selections. 

Final Conference Standings: 

1). Athens (11-1)

2). Vinton County (10-2)

3). Meigs (7-5)

4). Alexander (6-6)

5). Wellston (5-7)

6). River Valley (2-10)

7). Nelsonville-York (1-11)

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Load comments