Jayden Spires

Jackson’s Jayden Spires was named Frontier Athletic Conference Player of the Year after scoring 18 touchdowns for the champion Ironmen this season.

Note: This story appears in the Wednesday, Nov. 13 newspaper on Page B2.

The Frontier Athletic Conference released it all-league football teams on Friday, with the champion Ironmen receiving the most honors.

Standout running back Jayden Spires was tabbed as FAC Player of the Year after leading the Ironmen to a perfect 10-0 record and running for 1,175 yards and 18 touchdowns on 156 carries.

He was joined on the all-league list by teammates Jared Icenhower, Brice Parks, Anthony Parks, Grant Mastin, Ty Ruckel and Treylan Davis.

As the team’s signal caller, Icenhower has thrown for 865 yards on 56-of-102 passing (54.9 completion percentage) and 11 touchdowns. Additionally, he ran for 305 yards and three touchdowns.

Davis does more blocking than anything from his tight end position due to Jackson’s style of play. He’s only caught four passes on the season, but made the most of every catch to the tune of 196 yards (49 yards a catch) with a touchdown.

Ruckel is the anchor on the Ironmen’s offense line at 5-foot-11 and 225 pounds. He has led the charge up front for a team that has ran for just under 3,000 yards, averages 293 yards on the ground per game and scores 40.5 points per game.

On the defensive side, everything began up front with the 6-foot-3 defensive tackle Anthony Parks. Through 10 games, he has 90 tackles, 11 tackles for loss and 11 sacks.

If teams managed to get by the defensive line, Mastin has been right there to make the tackle. He leads the Ironmen with 102 tackles on the season, 10 tackles for loss and seven sacks.

But if teams mix it up and decide to pass, Brice Parks is ready to make a play. An All-Ohioan last season, Parks doesn’t have an interception this year yet has made 62 tackles this season.

Rounding out the all-league list for the FAC is Jayden Lebeau, Dalton Mayer, Luke Henry and Josh Gilmore of Miami Trace; Eli Lynch, Collier Brown, Chase Sluder, Jamie McCane and Jerome Mack of Washington Court House; Patrick Rourke, Ray Byers, Drew Seymour and Kam Smith of Chillicothe; Draven Stodgell, Zach Burns, Mark Gallimore and Justin Spears of Hillsboro, and Gabe Martinez from McClain.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Load comments