Note: This sports recap appears in the Wednesday, Nov. 6 newspaper on Page B1.

The Southeast Ohio Volleyball Coaches Association released its all-district teams on Sunday with the area being heavy represented.

In Division II, Vinton County’s Cameron Zinn was named District 13 Defensive Player of the Year and selected to the first-team after finishing the season with 736 assists, 255 digs, 80 kills and 65 aces, while Gallia Academy’s Peri Martin was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Vikings coach Ashley Ervin and Blue Devils’ coach Janice Rosier were named as co-Coaches of the Year.

Joining Zinn on first-team were fellow teammates Maylea Huff and Sydey Smith after helping lead the Vikings to a school-best 22-3 record.

Huff ended her season with 196 digs, 145 kills and 38 aces, while Smith finished with a team-leading 332 kills, 118 digs and 62 aces.

Jackson’s Abbey Munn earned her spot on first-team as well ending the season with a team-high 206 kills, 190 digs and 34 aces for the 12-9 Ironladies.

Rounding out the first-team list was Alex Barnes and Maddie Wright of Gallia Academy along with Kaitlyn McClead and Sydney Wright of Marietta.

Jackson’s Holly Sexton and Vinton County’s Kerrigan Ward highlight second-team honors.

Sexton finished with 113 kills, 43 digs and 37 aces, while Ward topped out with a team-high 408 digs and 50 aces.

Finishing out the second-team list is Sarah Webb of Athens, Abby Gilliand of Warren, Hannah Kroft from Marietta, McKenzie Pope of River Valley and Mallory Howley from Meigs.

Headlining third-team honors was Vinton County’s Lacy Ward and Jacksons Kylee Bako.

Ward finished with 203 kills, 150 digs and a team-high 72 aces, while Bako had 223 digs, 123 kills and a team-high 48 aces.

Joining them on third-team was Maddy Petro and Bailey Barnette of Gallia Academy, Madison Foy of Warren, Lora Kinney from River Valley and Beranna Zirkle of Meigs.

Jackson’s Kaydee Brown and Kloe Zink lead the honorable mention list, alongside Hannah Jacks, Jaden Bradley and Kasey Birchfield of River Valley, Caspen Ford and Haylee Morgan of Warren, Maci Hood of Meigs, Maddy Muntz of Marietta and Baelyn Carey of Athens.

In Division III, Oak Hill’s Caitlyn Brisker and Wellston’s Kamryn Karr were named to the first-team.

Brisker finished the season with a team-high 217 kills, 69 digs, 50 blocks and 19 aces, while Karr passed out over 200 assists and served more than 20 aces for the Golden Rockets.

Rounding out the first-team was Mallory Rankin and Jenna Houpt of Alexander, Samantha LaFon and Mary Beth Burton of Ironton, Makenzie Hurd of Nelsonville-York, Bailey Roland of Fairland, Addison Dillow of Coal Grove and Makayla Bowen of Federal Hocking.

Making the third-team list was Oak Hill’s Abby Meldick, who finished the season with 63 digs, 52 kills and 23 blocks for the 8-15 Oaks.

Joining her on third-team was Riley Schreck, Lydia Hannah and Peyton Rowe of Ironton, Rylee Harmon of Coal Grove, Olivia Barber of Eastern, Haley Hurd of Nelsonville-York and Jenna Stone of Fairland.

Wellston’s Sierra Layne and Sadie Henry, along with Oak Hill’s Baylee Howell and Chloe Chambers were named honorable mention.

Rounding out the list was Sydney Sanders, Kylie Gheen and Brielle Newland of Eastern, Corinne Ferguson and Blake Anderson of Chesapeake, Whitney Howard and Grace Hunt of Rock Hill, Chloe McCune, Jordan Knapp and Abby Jackson of Federal Hocking, Halley Booth of Coal Grove, Olivia Curd of South Point, Madi Wilson of Fairland, Grace Sinnott of Nelsonville-York and Brooke Casto of Alexander.

Alexander’s Karsyn Raines was named Defensive Player of the Year and Nelsonville-York’s Brittlyn Call was Offensive Player of the Year.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Load comments